MINUTES OF THE INAUGURAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE SEVEN OAKS SCHOOL DIVISION HELD ON MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 8, 2008, 6:00 P.M., AT THE BOARD OFFICES, 830 POWERS STREET, WINNIPEG, MANITOBA, R2V 4E7.

PRESENT	Bill McGowan	Chairperson
	Claudia Sarbit	Vice-Chairperson

Gary J. Fogg Trustee
Teresa Jaworski Trustee
Cory Juan Trustee
Evelyn C. Myskiw Trustee
Edward P. Ploszay Trustee
Dennis Ruggles Trustee
Richard Sawka Trustee

## IN ATTENDANCE Brian O'Leary Superintendent

Duane Brothers
Lydia Hedrich
Edith Wilde
Wayne Shimizu
Donna Herold
Assistant Superintendent

Wayne Shimizu in the Chair.

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m.

#### NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS

#### CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD

Trustee Fogg nominated Trustee Myskiw. Trustee Jaworski nominated Trustee Sarbit.

Hearing no further nominations the chair declared nominations be closed.

# 08B-001 - Chairperson of the Board

Trustee Sarbit was elected Chairperson of the Board.

#### VICE-CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD

Trustee Juan nominated Trustee Myskiw.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

# 08B-002 – Vice-Chairperson of the Board

Trustee Myskiw was declared elected by acclamation Vice-Chairperson of the Board.

Trustee Sarbit in the Chair.

#### **CO-CHAIRS OF NEGOTIATIONS**

## - SEVEN OAKS TEACHERS' ASSOCIATION

Trustee Myskiw nominated Trustee Sawka.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

# 08B-003 - Co-Chair of Negotiations - Seven Oaks Teachers' Association

Trustee Sawka was declared elected by acclamation, Co-Chair of Negotiations for the Seven Oaks Teachers' Association.

#### **CO-CHAIR OF NEGOTIATIONS**

### - CANADIAN UNION OF PUBLIC EMPLOYEES

Trustee Ploszay nominated Trustee Ruggles.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

# 08B-004 - Co-Chair of Negotiations - C.U.P.E.

Trustee Ruggles was declared elected by acclamation Co-Chair of Negotiations for C.U.P.E. Locals No. 731, 949, 2938.

#### - SEVEN OAKS PARAPROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATION

Trustee Fogg nominated Trustee McGowan. Trustee Myskiw nominated Trustee Jaworski.

Trustee McGowan declined the nomination.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

## 08B-005 – Co-Chair of Negotiations – S.O.P.A.

Trustee Jaworski was declared elected by acclamation Co-Chair of Negotiations for the Seven Oaks Paraprofessional Association.

# REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER BODIES – STANDING COMMITTEES

## 08B-006 – Representatives to Other Bodies – Standing Committees

- Policy Manual Committee: Trustees Jaworski, Ploszay, and Juan.
- Workplace Safety and Health Committee: Trustee Ruggles.
- Accident Review Committee: Trustees Fogg and McGowan.
- Board/SOTA Professional Development Committee: Trustees Sawka and Juan.
- Educational Leave Committee: Trustees Jaworski and Ruggles.
- Board-SOTA Advisory Committee: Trustees Ploszay, Sawka and Sarbit.
- Board-Student Liaison Committee: Trustees Fogg, Ploszay and McGowan.
- Negotiations Committees:
  - Seven Oaks Teachers' Association: Trustees Sawka (Chair), Sarbit and Ploszay.
  - Canadian Union of Public Employees, Locals #731, #949 and #2938: Trustees Ruggles (Chair), Juan and Myskiw.
  - Seven Oaks Paraprofessional Association: Trustees Jaworski (Chair), Fogg and McGowan.

# 08B-007 - Representatives on External Committees

- City of Winnipeg Liaison: Trustee Sarbit or Trustee Myskiw.
- Metro Coordinating Committee: Trustees Sawka, Ruggles and Jaworski.

#### **APPOINTMENTS**

## **08B-008 – Auditors**

Myskiw/Jaworski

That the auditors for the Seven Oaks School Division for the 2008-2009 school year be K.P.M.G.

Carried

# 08B-009 - Solicitor

McGowan/Ploszay

That the solicitors for the Seven Oaks School Division be on a fee for service basis.

Carried

# **08B-010 – Signing Officers**

Fogg/Juan

That the signing officers for the Board be the Chairperson or the Vice-Chairperson; and the Secretary-Treasurer or the Superintendent.

Carried

## 08B-011 - Ballots

Juan/Fogg

That the ballots be destroyed.

Carried

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting adjourned at 6:30 p.m.

Chairperson

Secretary-Treasurer

dherold\2008-2009\2008-2009 Minutes\SEP08.08.INA.doc